You can disable it in our security filters. It's on because it works. It gets rids of everyone people hate and don't want to see here. Each user can choose their own feed. If you annoy everyone, you will be blocked. Not only by amethyst, but by many clients and relays out there. You don't own other people's phones.
Login to reply
Replies (5)
Like in ancient cities where they would hold votes to exile people if they spoke too much truth
"Nostr is such advanced freedom tech"
Except, each user chooses their own faith. Nobody wants to see annoying folks. We offer plenty of tools to get rid of everyone people don't like.
Feel free to do so. That's why the option is there.
Devs don't block you. They do allow other people to block you in their own phone. In fact, many people ask for features to block others. And they should be free to do so (it's their phone after all) and thats why devs code these features.
A decentralized protocol doesn't mean you can force others to watch and see your content.
So, if 5+ people that I follow reported you, you don't show up in my feed. But you still show up in everybody else's feed. It's not just any random 5 people. It must be 5 from the list that each user follows.
So, in a way, if you report someone, you are helping to protect your followers from that person's content. Your report alone will do nothing, but if 5 others that your followers follow agree, then this is hidden by default.
You can always disable the filter in the security setting. But this simple rule has been quite good to remove stuff people don't want to see, like scammers, impersonators and dick picks.